Anxiety and Depression: Living with Mental Illness

This post is out of the ordinary for me in terms of writing and what I want for this blog, but  all the same, I thought it was worth talking about since I found out somewhat recently that a lot of creative people suffer from sort of anxiety and/or depression and that is because they both come from the same part of the brain and I don’t know about you, but when I heard that, everything kind of fell into place as far as understanding why I am the way I am.

This isn’t something that I talk about lightly. In fact, there are many people who I consider close friends and colleagues that do not know that I have a form of social anxiety and have even suffered from depression. From of the outside looking in, you might think that there is nothing wrong with me. I get up in the morning, go to work, come home and maybe go out with friends, go to bed and get up the next morning to do it all over again.

What you don’t see and what I don’t show the world is the struggle that I go through every single morning to get out of bed. Nor do you see my feet falter when I fight to put one foot in front of the other. I must say that medication helps me to get on with my day-to-day life, but I think what helps me most is writing.

I don’t write because I dream of one day becoming this famous author. I write because it lets me escape, if only for a few hours and to forget that I have anxiety. I write to give myself peace.

Leave a Reply

