Murphy’s Destiny #1: The Idea

Before I begin with the second installment of the my writing life series, I must apologize for my absence for the past week or so. Between work and having a tooth pulled, I haven’t felt much like writing and in fact, I don’t think I’ve written more than three or four sentences over the course of a week.  Yesterday,  I took a turn for the better and managed to hack out around four or five pages.

Now, on to the series…

My current writing project is a fantasy and to be honest, this is my first attempt at writing in this category. Before now, I mostly wrote mysteries and thrillers that were….well, lets just say they weren’t that good. Anyhow, the idea for this book which I have proudly names Murphy’s Destiny, started out as a piece of fan fiction I was thinking about writing based on some characters of mine that I created through the popular computer game, Guild Wars 2. It never got written due to the fact that the stories that I had worked up for those particular characters kept changing and evolving.

What started out as a simple piece of fluff, quickly become something much, much more and I quickly found myself reading anything and everything I could get my hands on that had to do with writing fantasies. When I first started this project, I thought about separating the book into a series or at least into a trilogy, but after writing the plot for the first (and eventually only book) I realized that I didn’t have enough information to make up multiple books.

So, here I am sitting at my computer writing about what I consider to be my baby and I have to say that I haven’t been this excited to write in about a month or so. You must understand, see, that it isn’t because I’ve lost interest or don’t believe in my book because I do very much, it’s just that I found myself doubting my ability as a writer and thinking that maybe my story wasn’t good enough or strong enough to make it to publication.

Now that I’ve done told you all about my book, I think I post this and do some writing before I call it night.

Until we meet again,

B.

Leave a Reply

